GAABSE Youth Summit

The GAABSE Youth Summit Committee would like to thank you for your thoughts, prayers, and time in supporting our Inaugural Youth Summit!  It was a huge success.  I would like to personally thank all of our members that volunteered their time and helped in all aspects of the summit.  The GAABSE Executive Board is extremely proud of the outcome and we are looking forward to next year!

Thank You,

Danielle Twitty
GAABSE Financial Secretary
GAABSE Youth Summit Committee Chair

GAABSE Recognized For Their Efforts to Promote Exceptional Education
The Garland Area Alliance of Black School Educators (GAABSE) were recognized Tuesday night for their efforts to promote exceptional education for all students. - (photo courtesy of Tiffany Veno/Garland ISD)

LaTonya Goffney Named 2017 TASB Superintendent of the Year

10.07.2017 — TASB has named LaTonya Goffney, superintendent of Lufkin ISD, the 2017 Superintendent of the Year. Her win was announced October 7 at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas.

Goffney was selected from a group of state finalists that included Robert Jaklich, Victoria ISD, Region 3; Judd Marshall, Mount Pleasant ISD, Region 8; Thomas Randle, Lamar CISD, Region 4; and Jim Vaszauskas, Mansfield ISD, Region 11.

Noted by the selection committee were her focus on transparency, removing barriers, and sharing best practices for continuous improvement in the district. Also noted were the community forums and state-of-the-district breakfasts to gather input and share progress.

[vc_posts_grid loop=”size:10|order_by:date|categories:17″ query_offset=”1″ post_layout=”small” show_meta=”no”]

Scroll to Top